Le Tour de Langkawi

Since the first event back in 1996, Le Tour de Langkawi has grown to become the largest cycling competition in Malaysia and is now proud to be recognised as Asia’s biggest race. It is named after Langkawi, as this is where the original race started and finished, however, it now includes several lovely destinations across the country.

Le Tour de Langkawi was the brain child of Malaysia’s Prime Minister, and it is organised by the Ministry of Youth and Sports and the Malaysian National Cycling Federation. Every year in March or April, more than 100 riders from over 20 teams from all around the globe flock to Malaysia to take part. The exciting race consists of eight stages across 1,240KM, beginning in Kuala Lumpur. Cyclists then make their way along the scenic west coast of Peninsula Malaysia, with the final two stages occurring on Langkawi’s main island, ending in Kuah.